Book review Books

The TBR Book Tag

How do you keep track of your TBR pile?

Back in the 80s, I had a list of 100 Books to Read. So every summer, I tried to cross as many as I could off of that list. I had that list for many, many years. My TBR pile was fairly small. I didn’t have kids or too many responsibilities so I read a lot of books.

These days, I use Goodreads to keep track of the TBR pile and the already read pile.

Is your TBR mostly print or e-books?

Both. I probably have more e-books but I have a substantial pile of actual books.

A book that’s been on your TBR list the longest?

Early Ripening: American Women’s Poetry Now. edited by Marge Piercy. A friend of mine wanted me to look for this book. She asked me in 1996 or 1997. So I kept looking for this book until maybe 2017 or so. It’s always in the back of my mind that I should find it. I can just add to my Amazon cart, which I did not have in 1997.

A book you recently added to your TBR?

A book in your TBR strictly because of its beautiful cover?

I wouldn’t say strictly . . . but I do love the cover of The Tale of Princess Fatima, Warrior Woman: The Arabic Epic of Dhat al-Himma

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/56363967-the-tale-of-princess-fatima-warrior-woman

A book on your TBR that you never plan on reading?

The Hobbit. I love the movie but have never been successful at reading the book. I don’t think I have ever made it past the first chapter. Maybe if it was an audiobook I would have better luck? In junior high, I was supposed to read it as part of an English assignment. I almost failed the assignment. I read a book about Greek mythology. Thank you Jason and the Argonauts.

An unpublished book on your TBR that you’re excited for?

Mirror Girls by Kelly McWilliams looks very interesting. The description says that is “A thrilling gothic horror novel about biracial twin sisters separated at birth, perfect for fans of Lovecraft Country and The Vanishing Half.”

A book on your TBR that basically everyone’s read but you?

The Hobbit

A book on your TBR that everyone recommends to you?

Many book bloggers have reviewed and mostly enjoyed Daisy Jones & The Six.

A book on your TBR that you’re dying to read?

The Southern Book Club’s Guide to Slaying Vampires

by Grady Hendrix (Thriftbooks)

Check Thriftbooks for deals on this book. The book is currently at the post office just waiting for me to read it. I will be staking out the post office tomorrow. They aren’t vampires but they do have weird hours.

How many books are on your Goodreads shelf?

752 total. Already read 346. Want to read 405. Honestly, I have read more than 346 books but I haven’t always had Goodreads to keep track of the list.

Original Book Tag Found at A Rambling Reviewer:

%d bloggers like this: